Versatile Blogger Award

A huge thank you to Chrissy who nominated me for a Versatile Blogger Award. It was a particularly unexpected honour as I have only been blogging for a couple of months. Why not check out her blog on living with fibromyalgia (a condition often linked to ME and one that I have as a secondary diagnosis).

According to the rules of the award I should now share seven random facts about myself before nominating another fifteen blogs that I feel are worth following. The random facts are easy enough, but the fifteen blogs are more of a problem.

You see the symptoms of severe ME include a degree of cognitive dysfunction that means I am only able to do focussed cognitive activity (reading, typing etc.) for an hour a day.

In order to publish a weekly blog, I began writing more than a year before launch using eight years of poems, essays and diaries. This is only the second blog post to have been written in the week in which it was published; every other post has been drafted weeks or months beforehand. The time and focus required to edit these drafts and respond to comments each week takes up virtually all of my cognitive abilities. As a result I am not yet in a position to be following other blogs as well.

I hope that as my cognitive abilities improve I will be able dedicate more of my time to following other blogs in the future and when that day comes I will be sure to recommend any of the excellent blogs that I am certain to come across.

In the meantime, the seven random facts about myself will have to do:
1) I never wear skirts and don’t own a handbag.
2) As a toddler, I would only answer to the name Bongo Snogwash.
3) I played trumpet in the Royal Albert Hall three times in my teens.
4) At sixteen my work experience placement with a military band was cancelled due to conflict in Kosovo.
5) My first proper job was cleaning toilets.
6) My greatest ambition is to ride a bike again; my biggest regret that I’ll never donate blood or bone marrow.
7) No one else believed in the troupe of invisible monkeys that lived in our toilet when I was four.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Versatile Blogger Award

  1. Sally says:

    Well done on your well deserved award! I too hope you will soon have time/energy available to explore others blogs – there are some great ones out there! And I enjoyed your random facts – especially the 7th. LOL

  2. Miss Soul says:

    Sending much energy your way, and hope better days arrive soon ( I know it may just be only for a little while ) so you can set your plan in motion. Blessings to you.

  3. Tanya says:

    “My greatest ambition is to ride a bike again”

    This struck a chord with me. Pre-M.E., mountain biking was one of my favourite things in the world. Having a full-suspension bike meant that I could do epic stuff without messing up my already damaged back. When I first got a FS bike, I felt like I’d grown wings. It was amazing. There are few things in life more amazing than hurtling along a downhill course at high speed, defying gravity (and common sense).

    When I became ill, I sold my bike because I needed the money and it wasn’t likely that I’d be able to ride it again any time soon. I still miss it.

Leave a Reply

