The Night Before Christmas

It’s been a quiet week for me this week as I rest in preparation for Christmas. I can’t afford to do too much in the days leading up to Christmas if I want to be well enough to have Christmas dinner with family and spend time with my siblings on the one day a year that we all get together.

While a lot of Christmas traditions have fallen by the wayside because of my illness – no Christmas parties, meals out with old school friends or last minute Christmas shopping – Christmas Eve always finds me volunteering to peel the sprouts for Christmas dinner. Other than when I’ve been hospitalised or too ill to spend Christmas with family, peeling sprouts has been my job every Christmas Eve since the top end of Primary School, one of the few useful things I could contribute at that age without getting underfoot.

Since the first year I made it to my parents house after several years where I was too ill to travel, Christmas Eve has always found me propped up in bed or on the sofa with a bag of sprouts on my knee and some carols on the radio getting into the Christmas spirit. With none of the usual festive activities in the run up to Christmas, sitting down to peel sprouts is often the first time each year that it starts to feel Christmassy. This year instead of doing them in bed I managed to sit downstairs at the table while my brother peeled the carrots and my mum made the stuffing. Small progress perhaps after so many years of illness, but as they say, ‘every little helps’.

I am very aware as I write this that for a number of emotional, physical and financial reasons, Christmas can be a difficult time for many of the friends who follow my blog. I hope that whatever obstacles you may face this Christmas, it is as peaceful, pain free and special as it possibly can be.

Wishing a very Merry Christmas to you all.

Sarah x

This entry was posted in Hidden Disability, Myalgic Encephalomyelitis (ME) and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The Night Before Christmas

  1. albert says:

    It inspires me to read your reflections, Sarah. I have four dear ones who are housebound, so even though my health is good I understand what it’s like to be without energy especially at this time of year. Your words bring me closer to these persons, family members & friends. Prayers and good wishes,

  2. lisagasko says:

    Sarah, I’m glad you were able to spend time with your family and enjoy the holiday. Merry Christmas to you and your family.

  3. Miss P says:

    Happy Christmas
    x =) x

  4. Jill Jarvis says:

    Merry Christmas Sarah. I hope you and your family have a good Christmas 🙂

  5. vjearle says:

    Merry Christmas to you Sarah! I just read this after trimming the sprouts while my son and husband cooked Christmas Eve dinner. It feels good to be part of it all even it we can’t ‘do it all’ anymore. Christmas peace all!

  6. megrumble says:

    I’m Jewish and I celebrate Christmas. I am writing to thank you for your blog that I have read right from the beginning. (I subscribe to it.)
    Happy Christmas to you and all struggling ME sufferers. I hope you don’t have a relapse or at least not too much of it and a lovely time with your family this Christmas. I find Jewish holidays with gatherings difficult in a similar way so can relate to a lot of what is written by Christian ME sufferers.

  7. megrumble says:

    I meant to say before, I am Jewish and I don’t celebrate Christmas. Sorry, it was a bit of brainfog. Merry Christmas.

  8. Wishing you a wonderful holiday and many more sprout peelings to come! xx

  9. Good to meet a “fellow traveler” on this often difficult journey of CFS/ME. Wish you blessings and strength for all the sprout peelings in 2015.

  10. Diana says:

    Hi Sarah, Thanks so much for stopping by my blog. Your writing is so thoughtful and meaningful. Having to rest before big events resonates greatly with me. Hope your Christmas was lovely and wishing you the very best in this new year.

Leave a Reply

